Print this page

Navymen reward Carino with Ronda lap triumph

SAN JOSE, Nueva Ecija—El Joshua Carino reaped the fruits of his hard labor as he was gifted by Navy-Standard Insurance teammates Ronald Oranza and Jan Paul Morales with the Stage Five victory on Thursday in the Ronda Pilipinas presented by LBC that from Echague, Isabela to here.
Carino, 24, towed the first group that broke away early and instigated action in the final six kilometers that allowed Oranza and Morales to scoot into the final 2km stretch on top. But they waited for Carino to catch up and get the lap win approaching the finish line as the three all clocked four hours, six minutes and 58 seconds.
The All-Navy podium finish kept Oranza comfortably perched on top with an aggregate time of 17:40:13 and Morales, the defending back-to-back champion, a little less than five minutes off the pace at second with a total clocking of 17:45:12.
Jay Lampawog of Go for Gold Development is at No. 3 in 17:48:56, Cris Joven of Army-Bicycology at No. 4 in 17:51:16 and Ronald Lomotos of Navy-Standard’s Ronald Lomotos at No. 5 in 17:51:35.
Rounding up the top 10 were CCN Superteam’s Irish Valenzuela (17:52:34), Go for Gold Developmental’s Ronnel Hualda (17:52:34), Navy-Standard’s John Mark Camingao (17:54:26) and Rudy Roque (17:55:04) and Team Franzia’s Leonel Dimaano (17:55:10).
It also kept Navy at the helm in the overall team race with 70:54:59, almost half an hour ahead of Go for Gold Developmental team with 71:24:25 in the race presented by LBC and supported by MVP Sports Foundation, Filinvest, CCN, Petron, Versa.ph, 3Q Sports Event Management, Inc., Boy Kanin, Franzia, Standard Insurance, Bike Xtreme, SH+, Guerciotti, Prolite, Green Planet, Maynilad, NLEX Sports, Lightwater, LBC Foundation and PhilCycling.
Army-Bicycology was at third with 71:41:45.
It was Carino's first lap victory in this edition and fourth overall in Ronda.

Latest from Tribune Wires

Unit 102, 1020 Bel-Air apartment, Roxas Blvd, Ermita, Manila Copyright 2000-2017 All rights reserved, The Daily Tribune Publishing Inc.