Today News
A+ A A-

Oranza clinches Ronda crown

Ronald Oranza came through with a dominant performance to crown himself as new champion of Ronda Pilipinas 2018 presented by LBC yesterday at Filinvest in Alabang.
Despite knowing that he’s already assured of the crown and a spot in Ronda history, Oranza refused to take things slow as he clocked one hour, 28 minutes and 15 seconds to emerge second behind Stage 12 criterium winner Jan Paul Morales.
After 12 grueling stages that started in Vigan, Ilocos Sur, Oranza totaled 34:11:23 to best all comers including Morales, the titlist in the last two editions, who finished second and about 11 minutes behind with 34:22:56.
For his effort, Oranza will pocket a cool P1 million plus P300,000 worth of Boy Kanin franchise and a beautifully-crafted trophy and place in that exclusive club of Ronda champions composed of two-time winners Morales and Santy Baranchea of Team Franzia, Irish Valenzuela of CCN Superteam, Mac Galedo and Butuan City’s Reimon Lapaza.
“I can’t feel anything but happiness,” said the 25-year-old Oranza in Filipino.
Oranza took the overall lead as early as the second round while posting nine podium finishes including victories in Stages One in Vigan, Two in Pagudpud and Seven in Tarlac.
The 26-year-old Junrey Navara, for his part, wound up third overall in 34:33:06 while taking home his fourth CCN King of the Mountain trophy while Morales added the Petron Sprint King award to his growing collection of trophies.
Navy was also the undisputed winner in the Versa team race, clocking 135:13:47 ahead of Army-Bicycology, a team sponsored by former Philippine Sports Commission and Games and Amusement Board chair Eric Buhain, with 136:56:19 and Go for Gold Developmental team with 136:59:26.
Go for Gold Developmental team’s Jay Lampawog snatched the only award that Navy failed to win as by becoming the MVP Sports Foundation Young Rider winner.
Go for Gold’s George Oconer finished fourth overall in 34:38:15, Navy’s Jhon Mark Camingao fifth in 34:39:30 and Army-Bicycology’s Cris Joven sixth in 34:41:21.
Rounding up the top 10 were Go for Gold’s Boots Ryan Cayubit (34:43:50), Navy’s El Joshua Carino (34:45:32), Go for Gold Developmental team’s Lampawog (34:48:03) and Navy’s Rudy Roque (34:49:52).


Leila gets what she deserves

21-04-2018 Ninez Cacho-Olivares

Leila gets what she deserves

Detained Senator Leila de Lima no longer has any excuse...

Erdogan’s snap polls: bold gambit or che…

21-04-2018 AFP and Tribune Wires

Erdogan’s snap polls: bold gambit or checkmate?

Ankara, Turkey — With his stunning call for elections i...

Say goodbye to the SC seat, CJ

20-04-2018 Ninez Cacho-Olivares

Say goodbye to the SC seat, CJ

Even before the House of Representatives submit the Art...

Economic crisis forces slowdown at Venez…

20-04-2018 AFP and Tribune Wires

Economic crisis forces slowdown at Venezuela universities

Caracas, Venezuela — Teachers unable to pay the bus far...

Inhibit or resign? Quit or be ousted!

19-04-2018 Ninez Cacho-Olivares

Inhibit or resign? Quit or be ousted!

Justice Lourdes Sereno’s supporters must be very well-f...

Inflated CVs, dubious degrees: Spain in …

19-04-2018 AFP and Tribune Wires

Inflated CVs, dubious degrees: Spain in ‘mastergate’ scandal

Madrid, Spain — Inflated CVs, degrees that may or may n...






Life Style




Unit 102, 1020 Bel-Air apartment, Roxas Blvd, Ermita, Manila Copyright 2000-2017 All rights reserved, The Daily Tribune Publishing Inc.