Today News
A+ A A-

Reyes named captain of women’s volley team

Mika Reyes got the biggest surprise when she was appointed team captain of the national women’s team headed for the AVC Asian Senior Women’s Championship and the 29th Southeast Asian Games.

Head coach Francis Vicente said he was impressed with the skills, leadership and dedication of the Petron star, prompting him and his staff to name her as captain of the star-studded team.
It’s going to be Reyes’ third selection in the national team after winning three University Athletics Association of the Philippines (UAAP) titles for De La Salle University.
She was selected as one of the seven Filipinas for the PSL-Manila squad in the FIVB Women’s Club World Championship last year as well as for Rebisco-PSL Manila in the AVC Asian Women’s Club Championship in Kazakhstan next week.
She was also awarded Ms. Volleyball by the Philippine Sportswriters Association after leading F2 Logistics to the PSL All-Filipino title and the Lady Spikers to a UAAP crown last year.
But the main factor that Vicente considered was the way she powered Pilipinas-Blue squad to a come-from-behind win in the Clash of Heroes last Monday.
“The first time I saw her in training, I was already impressed,” said Vicente, adding that picking Reyes over other candidates like Rachel Anne Daquis, Kim Fajardo, Aiza Maizo-Pontillas and Alyssa Valdez.
“So when we brought up her name for deliberation, all coaches agreed unanimously. They know that Mika stepped up the moment we started training.”
Aside from Reyes, also named in the squad are Denden Lazaro of Cocolife, Dawn Macandili, Aby Marano and Kim Fajardo of F2 Logistics, Gen Casugod, Roselle Baliton and Kathleen Arado of Generika, Lourdes Clemente of Sta. Lucia, Jaja Santiago and Maika Ortiz of Foton, Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, Ria Meneses, Rhea Dimaculangan and Frances Molina of Petron, Daquis and Gonzaga of Cignal, and Alyssa Valdez of Creamline.
“This is a strong and fighting team,” said Vicente. “I’m not promising anything, but we’ll make sure to make the country proud.”
Also announced during the press launch hosted by Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas Inc. Friday at the Arellano School of Law were the composition of the men’s squad.
Head coach Sammy Acaylar said he gave second chances to Cignal players like Mark Alfafara, Bonjomar Castel and Heschel Ramos, who showed big hearts after being previously cut for missing the Clash of Heroes.
Joining them in the team are Relan Taneo, Geuel Asia, Bryan Bagunas, Ran Abdilla, Alden Cabaron, Reyson Fuentes, Jeff Malabanan, Jack Kalingking, Louwie Chavez, Edward Camposano, Gregorio Dolor, John Sarcena, John Carascal and Peter John Quiel.
Reigning National Collegiate Ath;etics Association Most Valuable Player Johnvic de Guzman will serve as team captain.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated.Basic HTML code is allowed.


Finally, day of reckoning comes

27-06-2017 Ninez Cacho-Olivares

Finally, day of reckoning comes

Looks like the day of reckoning has come for the then p...

Nigeria’s northern Christians worried ov…

27-06-2017 AFP and Tribune Wires

Nigeria’s northern Christians worried over quit notice

Kano, Nigeria — Okechukwu Ugo has been left in a predic...

Again and again: No to death penalty

27-06-2017 Archbishop Oscar V.Cruz

Again and again: No to death penalty

Indeed, nowadays the death penalty is unacceptable, how...

US electoral interference in the Philipp…

27-06-2017 Ken Fuller

US electoral interference in the Philippines (5 of 7)

The election of Ramon Magsaysay to the Philippine presi...

Greece takes home foreclosures online to…

27-06-2017 AFP and Tribune Wires

Greece takes home foreclosures online to avoid protests

Athens, Greece — The scene has become familiar in Greec...

In Mosul, ghostly civilians emerge from …

27-06-2017 AFP and Tribune Wires

In Mosul, ghostly civilians emerge from Old City hell

Mosul, Iraq — They all say they are back from “hell.” Q...






Life Style




Copyright 2000-2012 All rights reserved, The Daily Tribune Publishing Inc.